Storifying – Take 2

Oscar

While in New York City during super bowl weekend, amongst the hundreds of different festivities going on around me, I noticed the Oscar Mayer wiener mobile drive by me. I immediately snapped a photo and stood there in awe and amazement since it’s something I have see only in TVs, magazines, and other media. After a minute or so, all my excitement calmed down a little and I realized it’s not really such a big deal 😉 However, I can’t help but think how many people have felt the same as me after seeing this vehicle? I think about all the different places the wiener mobile has been and all the different people who have taken a ride in it. All it’s expeditions, appearances, and advertisements must have a story behind it somewhere, right?

4 thoughts on “Storifying – Take 2

  1. It could be. Good of you to be thinking about this as you go about the world. Or what does it say about us that a car with a cover of a giant hot dog makes us at least smile or not think ti is weird? Of course one can go darker and think about the qualms that many people have for what goes into mass produced hot dogs (A food story angle, do we know where our food comes from?)

    • I didn’t look at it fro the angle where some people would see the wiener mobile and it would just remind them of what hot dogs are truly made of! Therefore being disgusted or otherwise not impressed with seeing the vehicle.

  2. bcodelson says:

    I can’t believe you’d never seen the Wiener mobile!!! I vividly recall the day it came to my elementary school in Bloomington Minnesota. I thought it was the coolest thing. I do see how it can remind us of the nasty things we put in our bodies, like whatever hot dogs are made of – but that’s never stopped me from getting a dog at a ball game so I don’t have much room to talk.
    I like your idea. It kinda reminds me of the Flat Stanley project, http://www.flatstanley.com/. I think you could do something similar here with the wiener mobile. Maybe you could even incorporate a theme or underlying message? Flat Stanley’s goal is to promote literacy. Interesting thought!

Leave a Reply

