Photo Techniques

Throughout the week I was waiting for moments where I could apply some of the tips we learned this week. Some of the photo “rules of thumb” that were interesting to me was first of course the “rule of thirds” which I thought was easy to follow and makes a lot of sense. The other techniques I found intriguing were “Near and Far” orientations and also the concept of “framing.” All of which are explained in the following slide show by Rob Wall.

The other day while on my way to DC using the metro, I noticed a great opportunity to use the “framing” technique. I was on the platform waiting for the train when I saw a square electrical box with graffiti on it. What made me jump at the opportunity was that the object could be seen through a “frame,” which would be the metro stop sign. Now I don’t know if the rule of thirds would apply here, since I think the fence and track are out of sync.

DCgrafiti

Now for my attempt at “the rule of thirds” is the picture below. I thought it would be interesting to take a photo from below it, with camera pointing straight into the sky, especially since the sky is so fluid and contrasting with the light fixture. This is a light fixture hanging at a construction site near my house, but if you didn’t know that, this picture I believe can lead your imagination in several directions. Notice the light fixture is at a “intersection point” with respect the rule of thirds “grid” – Also explained the above slide show.

unknownlight

Finally is a picture I took in Athens, Greece last summer. I was so intrigued and fascinated by this graffiti since this one particular wall was surrounded by beautiful beach and water. It stuck out like a sore thumb, I had to capture it. Anyways, looking back I think it does a good job of focusing on something in the foreground while seeing the less gloomy background. This could be an example of “juxtaposition” where things in the photo don’t seem to belong together.

GreeceGrafiti

2 thoughts on “Photo Techniques

  1. There’s a lot that I like in your experiments here- the looking up at the light by far for how you aimed in a different direction, and isolated an object against the sky. Interestingly, in your frame from the train photo and the grafitti, you compose the pictures at an angle, rather than straight on, which by virtual of the converging lines (top and bottom of the subjects), the eye is drawn into the photos.

    The Rule of thirds is worth considering as you frame shots but is by no means a golden rule. Its helpful to try a shot with a few different variations; over time you may find yourself doing it without even realizing it.

Leave a Reply

